Determining a Wrongful Death Settlement Amount

shutterstock_155067617Wrongful death cases in Rhode Island in regard to the amount of recovery you can make is based upon how the incident occurred, medical bills incurred, future earning capacity of the person that unfortunately was killed but as a baseline minimum in Rhode Island, there are statutory law a human life has been found to have a minimum value of $250,000 which means in order to protect someone, say who’s 90 years old maybe at a life expectancy of another 2 days, unfortunately if that person got hit by a car and a jury came back and said the damages in the case only worth $50,000. Under Rhode Island law, that individual would receive $250,000.

This informational blog post was provided by Mark A. Fay, an experienced Rhode Island Wrongful Death Attorney.

Leave a Reply