Archive for Wrongful Death

Time Frame to Work Through a Wrongful Death Case

In Rhode Island right now, it takes approximately 2 and a half to 3 years from the time you actually file a wrongful death claim until you will receive a trial date and get your day in court. What I recommend or what I advise my clients when they come to see me is that in order to maximize your recovery on any claims especially a wrongful death claim, you have to be willing to go all the way through trial. Don’t look that as a quick settlement. There are a lot of firms out there that are looking for quick settlements. If you take that position, it’s gonna minimize your recovery. You have to be willing and ready to go the whole way. We’re willing to try this cases. We try this cases all the time but I always make it clear all my clients upfront that you’re probably looking at 2 and a half to 3 years before you get a day in court on a wrongful death case.

This informational blog post was provided by Mark A. Fay, an experienced Rhode Island Wrongful Death Attorney.

Importance of Pain and Suffering in a Wrongful Death Case

shutterstock_157658858In wrongful death cases, one of the important factors in regard to damages is pain and suffering of the decedent. I have worked with many experts over the years to help establish the type of pain and suffering a person endured or suffered before they passed away. Under Rhode Island law, a person can recover for pain and suffering so it’s important that you get the right firm and the right attorney that can help you establish the pain and suffering that a loved one went through before they passed away.

This informational blog post was provided by Mark A. Fay, an experienced Rhode Island Wrongful Death Lawyer.

Determining a Wrongful Death Settlement Amount

shutterstock_155067617Wrongful death cases in Rhode Island in regard to the amount of recovery you can make is based upon how the incident occurred, medical bills incurred, future earning capacity of the person that unfortunately was killed but as a baseline minimum in Rhode Island, there are statutory law a human life has been found to have a minimum value of $250,000 which means in order to protect someone, say who’s 90 years old maybe at a life expectancy of another 2 days, unfortunately if that person got hit by a car and a jury came back and said the damages in the case only worth $50,000. Under Rhode Island law, that individual would receive $250,000.

This informational blog post was provided by Mark A. Fay, an experienced Rhode Island Wrongful Death Attorney.