Archive for Criminal Defense

I Got a Ticket for Driving with a Suspended License

shutterstock_18277498

With a suspended license charge, it’s a misdemeanor in the state of Rhode Island. The first thing I speak to the client about is do they know necessarily what is suspended in their license and if they don’t or if they do, we address that suspension. When I said if they don’t, what would need to be done I’ll run their license, do some work maybe operate a control and I’d find out whether it could be anything whether it would be a municipal court fine that wasn’t paid, whether it was an accident report that wasn’t filed or failure to put an SR22 or something in their history that has suspended them. I think the first direction I would take with this client is after I get the answer to what suspension is that, I would put the best foot forward to get that suspension reinstated and then deal with the suspended license charge.

This informational blog post was provided by Norman Landroche Jr., an experienced Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer.

I Got a Ticket for Driving in the Wrong Direction

shutterstock_232672318If you got a ticket for driving a wrong direction, I would certainly get a full history of your driving abstract and get a look at your record. I wanna know the particulars of where you were, are you familiar with this area, of course, was there an accident or other people on the road, the time, the date, the place. I want to specify really is it a serious violation? Certainly I do understand that driving the wrong way puts the driver into a serious situation but I want to make sure as far as it’s just that violation. Is it more to it and we’ll address it from that point on.

This informational blog post was provided by Norman Landroche Jr., an experienced Rhode Island Criminal Defense Attorney.

What’s the BAC in Rhode Island for Adults and Minors?

shutterstock_156939392Quite often we’re asked, “What is the blood alcohol limit in the state of Rhode Island?” Rhode Island has a .08 law however if you are a young adult over the age of 18 but under 21, there is also a statute known as driving while impaired which is when your blood alcohol level is between a .02 and a .08.

This informational blog post was brought to you by William J. Murphy, an experienced Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer.

What Should I do if I Get Arrested for More than One DUI in Rhode Island?

shutterstock_130472357Our office is often contacted by individuals who had prior DUI’s in their past and have received or been charged with a new DUI offense.  It is important to know in Rhode Island that multiple DUI’s within a 5 year period are taken very seriously by both the court and the prosecution and that an individual can end up in jail for those offenses.  If you are arrested for a second or third DUI within a 5 year period, it is imperative that you contact an attorney right away.

This informational blog post was brought to you by William J. Murphy, an experienced Providence, Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer.

I was Arrested for a White Collar Crime in Rhode Island

shutterstock_238770601One of our focuses in our practice is white collar crimes.  White collar crimes are usually entirely different than street crimes.  In white collar crimes, usually the individual knows that they are being investigated.  It is important for that person from the beginning when they get notice that they are being investigated that something is going on around them, that they get into an attorney’s office right away to see if it is possible for the attorney to try to control some of the investigation.

This informational blog post was brought to you by William J. Murphy, an experienced Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer.

What’s Important to Know if you’ve Been Charged with Burglary in Rhode Island?

shutterstock_239040937-1Our office is often contacted by family members of individuals who are being held at the adult correctional institution, which is the state jail.  The first priority that we have is to see if we can get the individual out on bail.  If somebody is arrested for burglary, which is a capital offense, our first priority is to see if we are going to be able to get the individual released on bail pending trial.

This informational blog post was brought to you by William J. Murphy, an experienced Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer.

What is the Arraignment Process and What Takes Place in Rhode Island?

court-house_1In Rhode Island, there is the arraignment process, whether it be in district court or superior court.  Most of the cases in Rhode Island do start off at the district court level whether they are felonies or misdemeanors.  Both of them do request after arrest an arraignment and that arraignment will generally take place in the district court.  At an arraignment, 99 percent of the time, our clients will plead not guilty.

This informational blog post was brought to you by William J. Murphy, an experienced Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer.

Should I let the Police Search My Car in Rhode Island?

pulled-over-cop-dui-dwi-alcoholWe are often asked as to whether or not people should voluntarily consent to the search of their vehicles by the police, and our answer is no.  You should not let the police search the vehicle under almost all circumstances and should request that the police obtain a warrant.

This informational blog post was brought to you by William J. Murphy, an experienced Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer.

If Someone is Being Questioned and Suspected of a Crime, Should they Answer Questions or Contact a Lawyer?

police-car-1024x680We’re often asked that if the police call and ask us to voluntarily come into a police station to answer some questions that they are suspected of committing a crime, under no condition should they go to the police station without an attorney.  Our advice is that they should not answer any questions and should seek council first.

This informational blog post was brought to you by William J. Murphy, an experienced Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer.

What Would you Tell Someone Who Gets Charged with Driving without Insurance in Rhode Island?

shutterstock_237128407If you have a ticket for driving without insurance, it’s a violation in the state of Rhode Island. You’re heading usually to the traffic tribunal. What I would suggest is that I first find out why don’t you have insurance. Did you not just get an insurance? In Rhode Island, it’s mandatory insurance to drive a vehicle on the public highways. Are you lapsed in your insurance? Did you not just have insurance? If you did not have insurance, the suggestion would be to get valid insurance prior to your court date so you can show the court and the prosecuting police department that, in fact, you corrected that. Correct of action will be on a better light in front of the traffic tribunal.

This informational blog post was brought to you by Norman Landroche Jr, an experienced Rhode Island Criminal Defense Lawyer.